WhatsApp is testing a link accounts feature that would allow users to link their social media platforms including Instagram and Facebook with WhatsApp.
Earlier media reports confirmed that WhatsApp will be introducing Stickers and picture-in-picture (PiP) mode, and according to TelecomTalk ‘Linked Accounts’ will also be a part of the upcoming updates. The feature will be made available globally for both iOS and Android and across WhatsApp for Business and regular app.
The company has also updated its “delete for everyone” by setting a time limit on revoking messages.
“WhatsApp’s latest beta version for Android has a modified ‘recipient limit. This simply means users cannot delete a message for everyone if the recipient does not receive the revoke request in 13 hours, 8 minutes and 16 seconds. The website says this may happen when the recipient has switched off the phone,” WABetainfo, a website that tracks new updates in the instant messaging platform has said.
“You can still delete a message for everyone within 1h, 8m, 16s as long as the recipient will receive your revoke request within 13h, 8m, 16s,” the report added.
In August, the instant messaging service announced rolling out its forward message limit to five chats for its 200 million users in the country.
In addition, the instant messaging app has also published a new video to educate its users, saying it is expanding its user education campaign on how to spot fake news and hoaxes. Globally, the company allows users to forward messages for up to 20 chats (either individuals or groups).
WhatsApp in an update started indicated which messages you receive have been forwarded to you. The feature helps you to determine if your friend or relative wrote the message they sent or if it originally came from someone else.