WhatsApp rolls out 'Delete Message' feature globally

By Anuj Sharma - November 1, 2017
whatsapp
Tap and hold on the message, choose “Delete,” and then “Delete for everyone.” You have seven minutes to delete the message after it's sent. Both you and the message recipient must be using the....

WhatsApp has added a long wanted feature wherein you can now delete messages you sent by mistake -- whether to one person or an entire group. The feature is now globally available and works on the latest versions of iPhone, Android, Windows Phone as well as desktop.

Here's how it works.

Tap and hold on the message, choose “Delete,” and then “Delete for everyone.” You have seven minutes to delete the message after it's sent.

Both you and the message recipient must be using the latest version of WhatsApp for the message to be successfully deleted.

To help its one billion users connect more seamlessly, WhatsApp reportedly in the next update will bring group voice and video calls.

“The 2.17.70 beta WhatsApp update has confirmed group calls,” said a report earlier in WABetaInfo, a website that tests new WhatsApp features early.

"The 2.17.70 iOS update has very hidden references to group calls! Before it was an internal news, now it's all confirmed. There are a lot of hidden references about group voice calls, but there is only one reference about group video calls. So, group video calls are partially confirmed at the moment," WaBetaInfo tweeted on Sunday.

"WhatsApp 2.17.70 sends a request to the server to ask if the user you are calling is in another group call!" read another WaBetaInfo tweet.

The company also announced new features for improved group management, including a tool that will prevent the group creator to be deleted from the group by other administrators.

Last month, WhatsApp rolled out a new Live Location feature that allows you to share your location in real-time with family or friends in disasters and crisis situations. Live Location is an end-to-end encrypted feature that lets you control who you share with and for how long. You can choose to stop sharing at any time or let the Live Location timer simply expire.

The instant messaging platform has over 1.3 billion monthly active users who transfer 55 billion messages and one billion videos every day. The messaging service supports 60 languages globally and over 4.5 billion photos are shared on the platform every day.

 

For the latest automotive news and reviews, subscribe to our e-newsletter and like us on Facebook or follow us on Twitter & Instagram
  • Tags
  • WhatsApp